SSL Certificate


St. Andrew's-Sewanee began its alumni awards program in 2005 with the first recognition banquet held during Alumni Weekend's Heritage/Centennial Tribute. Nearly 500 people gathered on the SAS lawns as Kix Brooks accepted the first Distinguished Alumni Award. Also bestowed were the first St. Andrew's-Sewanee Service Awards.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given each year to the alumnus or alumna who has achieved excellence in his or her field of endeavor and/or has made outstanding contributions to his or her community, and has brought distinction to them, to their professions and to their alma mater.

The St. Andrew's-Sewanee Service Award is given to those individuals who have exhibited exemplary support of and leadership for St. Andrew's-Sewanee School. The ideal recipients shall include both alumni and friends of the school who have over time demonstrated unusual loyalty and service to the school by virtue of their time and talent, and in doing so have served as outstanding role models to current students and to future generations of SAS graduates.

Two state track qualifiers
2018 SAS Service Award
2018 Distinguished Alumni Award
2016 St. Andrew's-Sewanee Service Award
2015 Distinguished Alumni Award
2015 Distinguished Alumni Award

Past Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award

2005 Kix Brooks SA '73
2006 George Garrett SMA '46
2007 Bob Standridge StA '57
2008 Lewie Card SMA '71
2009 Dale Doss StA '54 and Porter Halyburton SMA '59
2010 Bayard "Bud" Walters SMA '59
2011 Sean Bridgers '86 and Elisabeth Röhm '91
2012 Mike deGruy SMA '70 (Posthumous)
2013 Stephen Alvarez '83
2014 Richard Manship SMA '64
2015 William Turner SMA '65
2015 Clifton Lewis StA '75
2016 Not Awarded
2017 Not Awarded
2018 Elliott Puckette '85

St. Andrew's-Sewanee Service Award

Clyde Medford, StA '43 (Posthumous)
Hartwell Hooper StA '48 (Posthumous)
Chole Tucker SMS '63 (Posthumous)
Webb Turner SMA '55
Phebe Hethcock, Former Trustee and Parent

Stanley Hole StA '49
Bob Adams SMA '51
Ralph Williams SMA '51

Bob Ayres, Trustee
Anne Griffin, Former Trustee and Parent
Doug Warner, Former Trustee and Parent

Elbert Jemison SMA '40
Gordon Street, Former Trustee
Jim Watts SMA '54

Bill Wade, Retired Head of SAS

Murray Robinson StA '52

Maria Campbell, Former Trustee

Doug Campbell SMA '59

Not Awarded

Not Awarded

Andy Simmonds StA '61

Not Awarded
Eunice Colmore, Trustee

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite